Welbeck Abbey & The Portland Collection State Room Tour
Tuesday August 11th 2015
Welbeck Abbey’s State Rooms are open to the public every year in August for guided tours lasting approximately an hour & a half. Welbeck Abbey was founded in 1153 as a Premonstratensian Monastery & was acquired by Charles Cavendish, 3rd son of Bess of Hardwick in 1607. Over the next four centuries the family have collected extensively.
The tour takes in the Grand State Rooms and the Abbey’s reception rooms which have been host to royalty and includes the Gothic Hall and the tapestry hung Red Drawing Room. The State Rooms are decorated with objects and artworks from the Portland Collection of fine & decorative arts: ceramics, furniture, jewellery, miniatures, paintings, silver and textiles. The Abbey has one of the largest privately owned collections of British portraits with works by Sir Peter Lely, John Wootton & Sir Joshua Reynolds. Welbeck’s architecture has evolved over the generations and the tour includes the Countess of Oxford’s Gothic Hall with its soaring plasterwork ceiling and the Duchess of Portland’s State Rooms remodelled in the early C20th.
Following the tour which begins at 12.30 there will be an opportunity to visit the Harley Gallery workshops and the shop featuring British crafts.
There is a café serving light refreshments. Due to the timing of the tour at 12.30pm please bring a packed lunch. There will be a coffee stop at Wetherby Services on the way to the Abbey. Only small handbags are permitted on the tour. Sensible footwear is advised as the tour involves stairs & periods of standing.
No photography is allowed. Everyone will be given a complimentary pamphlet with images.
Cost £35 to include travel, tour & gratuities. Cheques only please.
The society is unable to refund monies paid.
The coach will leave Morton Park, Darlington at 8.45 am & return at approximately 6 pm.
Please contact Chris MacKinnon 01325 371443