LECTURE PROGRAMME 2021 - 2022

 

OUR MOST RECENT LECTURES

Monday 20th September 2021 6:30pm

Mona Lisa and Other Housewives: How portraits lie about their sitters

Lydia Bauman

Monday 18 October 2021 6.30pm

A Brazilian Odyssey: The works of the artist and landscape designer, Roberto Burle Marx

Marilyn Elm

 

Monday 15 November 2021 2.00pm
Gardens of the Restoration- Garden Design and Garden Themed Embroidery 1660-1720

Lucy Hughes-Hallett

 

OUR NEW PROGRAMME OF LECTURES

 

Special Christmas Meeting:

Monday 13 December 2021 11:00am

Artisans of Venice (Part 1)

Anne Haworth

 

Christmas Lunch (optional)

 

Monday 13th December 2.30pm

Artisans of Venice (Part 2)

Anne Haworth

Monday 17th January 2022 11.00am Zoom Lecture
Treasures of the Fan Museum

Jacob Moss

 

Monday 21st February 2022 2.00pm Zoom Lecture

A Virtual Tour of Exhibits in the Mauritshuis, The Hague, Netherlands - Scents in Colour

Jane Choy-Thurlow

Monday 21st March 2022 2.00pm

Insiders, Outsiders. Refugees from Nazi Europe and their contribution to British visual culture.

Monica Bohm Duchen

Monday 18 April 2022 2.00pm

The Enigma of Edward Elgar

Roger Askew

 

Monday 16 May 2022 6.30pm

Morris to Ikea. Modernity and Tradition at Home

Stephen Taylor

 

Monday 20 June 2022 6.30pm

To Smile or Not to Smile: Thomas Lawrence’s Portrait of Queen Charlotte

Steven Barrett

 

Special Events 2021 - 2022

Details will follow for future Study Days and Days of Special Interest.

UK Tour 2022: Cardiff (postponed from 2021) 30th June to 3rd July 2022.

Overseas Trip to Puglia and Southern Italy (postponed from 2021), October 2022 (Destination and dates to follow)

 

Covid restrictions will be adhered to as advised by the Government. All our lecturers can present their lectures via Zoom if applicable.